Mission AID FOR AIDS International

AID FOR AIDS is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to empowering communities at risk of HIV and the population at large, by developing their abilities and capacities in comprehensive prevention through access to treatment, advocacy, education and training to improve their quality of life and reduce stigma and discrimination.

 

Mission AID FOR LIFE International

AID FOR LIFE (AFL) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to generating social impact and enhancing the lives of people at risk of social vulnerability in developing countries by implementing programs that increase their capacities, abilities and provide access to essential products that strengthen the wellbeing of their communities.

Vision AID FOR AIDS International

To be recognized internationally as a successful model of empowerment, built on efficient and sustainable programs with a high social impact, allowing the development of leaders who adopt comprehensive prevention as a lifestyle to promote a better quality of life in the general population.

 

Vision AID FOR LIFE International

Achieving healthy societies by improving their wellbeing, quality of life and the respect for fundamental human rights.

Values

  • Union
  • Empathy
  • Integrity
  • Equity
  • Solidarity
  • Respect
  • Commitment
  • Credibility
  • Inclusion

Objectives

Besides providing free medication to people with HIV in developing countries who do not have access to treatment, AID FOR AIDS provides prevention education, case management, and advocacy to those with HIV and those affected by the epidemic both internationally and in the United States.

Staff

AID FOR AIDS is comprised of passionate individuals with a deep commitment to our mission. Everyday, our staff works to better the lives of people with HIV and those affected by the epidemic.

Jesús Aguais

Executive Director
JAguais@aidforaids.org

AFA Headquarters

Jaime Valencia
Director of Programs
JValencia@aidforaids.org

Alicia Molina
Director of Operations
AMolina@aidforaids.org

Tiffany Kearney
Director of Development
TKearney@aidforaids.org

Isabella Latouche
Director of Finance
ILatouche@aidforaids.org

Lupe Aguais
Director of Education and Training
LAguais@aidforaids.org

Ariadne Rosales
Communications Manager
ARosales@aidforaids.org

Dayana Mendoza
Coordinator: Corporate and Foundations Relationships
Dayana.Mendoza@aidforlifeintl.org

Isabella Gabaldón
Coordinator: Special Events
IGabaldón@aidforaids.org

Simón Rosales
Development Support
SRosales@aidforaids.org

Meudy Osío
Healing Program Coordinator
MOsio@aidforaids.org

Leonardo Klie
Coordinator: HIV Medicine Recycling Program
LKlie@aidforaids.org

Carine Keza
Specialist: HIV Medicine Recycling Program
KCarine@aidforaids.org

Oscar Peña
Case Manager
OPena@aidforaids.org

AFA Colombia

Jaime Valencia
Country Director – AFA Colombia
JValencia@aidforaids.org

Johnny Lenín Romero
Project Coordinator: Central Area
LRomero@aidforaids.org

AFA Dominican Republic

Claudia Messina
President of Board

María De Jesús Valenzuela
Country Director – AFA Dominican Republic
MValenzuela@aidforaids.org

Virginia Moreno
Access to Treatment Program Coordinator
VMoreno@aidforaids.org

Gladis García
Children & Adolescents with HIV Program Coordinator
GGarcia@aidforaids.org

Mayerlin Montilla
Accountant
MMontilla@aidforaids.org

Ibelise Medina
Field Coordinator
IMedina@aidforaids.org

AFA Mexico

Joel Rentería
Accountant

AFA Panama

Trina María Aguais
Country Director – AFA Panama
TAguais@aidforaids.org

Roalmar Alviárez
Access to Treatment Program Coordinator
RAlviarez@aidforaids.org

Mario Alexander Cruz
Project Coordinator
ACruz@aidforaids.org

Eduardo Cáceres
Coordinator of the Comprehensive Attention Program for Children and Adolescents with HIV or AIDS
ECaceres@aidforaids.org

AFA Peru

Teresa Ayala
Access to Treatment Program Coordinator
TAyala@aidforaids.org

AFA Venezuela

Lupe Aguais
Country Director – AFA Venezuela
LAguais@aidforaids.org

Valentina Pérez Padrón
Education and Training Coordinator
VaPerez@aidforaids.org

Alba Álvarez
Responsible for the Access to Treatment Program
AAlvarez@aidforaids.org

Yohely Reyes
Administrative Assistant
YReyes@aidforaids.org

Celso Sotelo
Healing Venezuela Coordinator
CSotelo@aidforaids.org

Ruth Cañizales
Healing Venezuela Support
RCanizalez@aidforaids.org

Ania Pulido
Nutritionist
APulido@aidforaids.org

Board

AID FOR AIDS is privileged to work with those on the Board of Directors who have tirelessly championed its causes while providing their unique knowledge and experience as leaders in their field. Meet our Board here:

Chair

Laura Messina

Treasurer

Joseph Hache

Secretary

Gabriel Matus

 

Beatriz de la Mora

David Roth

 

Founding Members

  • Adriana Cisneros de Griffin
  • Stephen Gendin (in memoriam)­
  • Violy McCausland-Seve

Founder & Executive Director

Jesús Aguais

Honorary Advisory Board

  • Tony Bechara
  • Victoria Benatar
  • Clarissa Bronfman
  • Carlos Campos
  • David Corkery
  • Jose Esparza, MD
  • Carolina Herrera
  • Mitchell S. Kushner MD, MPH
  • Gabriel G. Matus
  • Carlos Mota
  • Gabriela Neri
  • Roxana Olivas
  • Nan Richardson
  • Angel Sanchez
  • Mark Schoofs
  • Ricardo Seco
  • Tom Viola
  • Jackie Weld-Drake
  • Doug White
  • Yliana Yepez
  • Tim Rosta

History

Founded in 1996 by Jesús Aguais, AID FOR AIDS was first conceived as a simple idea of recycling unused, unexpired HIV medication and redistributing them to those without access to the costly medicines around the world.

In 1996, the increased availability of antiretroviral therapy had a profound impact on AIDS mortality rates in the United States. Yet in developing countries, life-saving medication remained difficult and expensive to access, while the number of new HIV infections and AIDS-related deaths continued to climb.

Jesús Aguais, an AIDS activist from Venezuela, was working as a counselor at the HIV Clinic of St. Vincent’s Hospital and Medical Center in New York City during this time. He noticed patients would frequently changed their antiretroviral treatment regimens, discarding many of the unused pills. Instead of allowing this perfectly good medication to go to waste, Jesús began collecting it in a drawer in his office, urging friends and clients to pass on their leftover medication whenever possible.

One day, an elderly woman came into the clinic to meet Jesús, the person she had heard about back in her home country. She had sold all of her possessions to travel from Venezuela and plead with him to help her family. Although the clinic could do nothing for her HIV-positive relatives, the medications saved in his drawer were the same antiretrovirals the woman needed for her family—medication they did not have access to in Venezuela.

This one woman and her struggle to find treatment represented to Jesús the thousands of people impacted by HIV worldwide in developing countries. She, and the countless people like her, inspired him to mobilize a group of dedicated and determined individuals to begin AID FOR AIDS. The organization has grown to include not only the largest HIV Medicine Recycling Program in the world, but also education, prevention, training, and advocacy programs that target people with HIV in developing countries.